If you are using iOS 16 or newer, you can view PIDs and DTCs in CarPlay. This article provides instructions for configuring CarPlay settings.
The CarPlay feature is intended for monitoring vital vehicle information. It is designed to minimize driver distraction, and you should never take your eyes off the road or attempt to navigate the app while driving. Connect to your vehicle and switch to the screen that you would like to be active while parked.
CarPlay does not support custom screens or dashboards, and it does not mirror your phone display. You can view PIDs in a list in CarPlay.
To configure what you want to display in CarPlay, open the Settings > Preferences > CarPlay page on your iPhone.
You can only configure CarPlay settings when not connected to CarPlay.
There are three different screen types that can be displayed, and each screen is displayed in a tab at the top of the CarPlay screen.
The actions screen displays buttons in a grid that allow you to perform a quick action. A Connect and Disconnect button is always displayed, which allow you to connect or disconnect from the vehicle. Other actions can be added using the toggle switches shown below.

The trouble codes screen can read and display trouble codes (DTCs). To display this screen, enable the Display Trouble Codes Screen option. When you read trouble codes from CarPlay, emissions-related codes will be read and displayed on the screen. If you have an enhanced diagnostic add-on and would also like to read and display enhanced codes, enable the Read Enhanced Codes option.

PID values are displayed in a list in CarPlay, and you can add multiple PID screens. To configure the PIDs that you want to display, press Configure Screens.

The Configure Screens dialog will open as shown below.

When you first configure screens, you will notice that some default screens and PIDs have been added. Each screen is listed in a different section, with the name of the screen at the top (PIDs and Trip in this example). For each screen, you can configure the following options:
The screen name can be configured by pressing the Edit button.
The image can be configured by pressing the image.
The PIDs that are displayed on the screen can be configured by pressing Select PIDs.
You can delete the screen by pressing the Delete button.
You can add additional screens by pressing the Add Screen button at the bottom of the page.
If the Add Screen button is disabled, then you have reached the maximum number of screens that can be added.
You can change the order of screens by pressing and holding the drag handle displayed next to the screen name and dragging the screen to the desired location.
By default, the CarPlay configuration is shared between all vehicles that you connect to CarPlay. You can add configurations that are specific to each vehicle, which is useful when you are connecting to different vehicles that support different PIDs. When you are using a shared configuration for the active vehicle, you will see Shared Configuration at the top of the configuration page.
If you would like to create a configuration that's specific to the vehicle that is active, press the Menu button and select one of the following options:
Select Create New Vehicle Configuration to create a new configuration with the default settings.
Select Copy To New Vehicle Configuration to create a new configuration with the settings copied from the shared configuration.
Once you create a vehicle-specific configuration, you will see the name of the vehicle at the top of the page instead of Shared Configuration. You can edit the configuration, and it will only apply to the vehicle that is currently active.
Before creating a new vehicle-specific configuration, make sure you select the correct vehicle in the vehicle editor.
The vehicle is automatically detected when you connect to the vehicle over OBD2. The vehicle cannot be recognized through a CarPlay connection to the vehicle. You can switch vehicles before connecting by using the vehicle editor in the app on your phone.
To remove the vehicle-specific configuration and go back to using the shared configuration, press Menu > Remove Vehicle Configuration.
Once you remove a vehicle-specific configuration, it is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.